This research group is located at the University of Porto and belongs to CETAPS (Centre for English, Translation and Anglo-Portuguese Studies), a centre committed to the study of the cultures and literatures of the English language. The group carries on and extends the activity of a former team dedicated to producing a complete Portuguese translation of Shakespeare’s plays.

Literary translation is the foundational and integrative concern of this group, as proved not only by its track record in Shakespeare translation (nineteen plays published so far) but also by a commitment to translation criticism.

Beyond this founding matrix, the group also engages in literary and cultural studies, with an emphasis on English studies and reception studies. This combination of interests involves an attempted balance between a focus on the canon and a commitment to producing and studying texts traditionally construed as secondary or derivative – i.e., translations.

Projects for 2015-20

The publication of the whole collection of the translations of Shakespeare’s dramatic works is expected to be completed by 2020. For 2016-17 the following translations are planned: Timão de Atenas (Nuno Ribeiro); Hamlet (Gualter Cunha); Júlio César (Maria de Fátima Vieira), Henrique VI, Parte I (Maria Cândida Zamith); Henrique VI, Parte II (Rui Carvalho Homem); Henrique VI, Parte III (Miguel Ramalhete Gomes); O Mercador de Veneza (Manuel Gomes da Torre).

Within the diversity of interests and projects that defines this research group the participation of several members of the group in congresses and other academic meetings of national and international scope will continue to be stimulated.


António e Cleópatra

Translation the Canon and its Discontents

Sonho de Uma Noite de Verão

O Rei Lear

Timão de Atenas

Tito Andrónico

Romancing Shakespeare

Exposição Shakespeare 400

Ricardo III

Bem Está o que Bem Acaba

O Mercador de Veneza

Romeu e Julieta

Henrique IV – Parte II

Henrique IV – Parte I


List of members
Carlos Azevedo
Manuel Gomes da Torre
Maria Cândida Zamith
Maria de Fátima Vieira